Wooden Housing Constructions: Evolution of Practices

//Wooden Housing Constructions: Evolution of Practices

Wooden Housing Constructions: Evolution of Practices

Context Elements

The National Building Code of Canada (hereinafter NBC) has allowed, since its first publication in 1941, that buildings be of combustible construction (including wood) together with structural and non-structural elements. At that time, large timber buildings could have four (4) storeys while those with lightweight framing were limited to three (3) storeys. The presence of sprinklers only had a limited influence on the permitted building area.

Even today, the choice by professionals to design combustible construction buildings must be made according to the specific conditions and requirements mentioned in the NBC, more specifically in subsection 3.2.2. The Régie du Bâtiment du Québec (RBQ) was innovative in its approach to combustible construction when it adopted the NBC 2010 amended version in June 2015.

Indeed, the “original version ” of the NBC 2010 QC, as published by the National Research Council of Canada (NRC), always limited combustible construction to no more than four (4) floors even if sprinklered. The RBQ, following the publication of its guide “Construction of 5 or 6-storey WOODEN DWELLINGS” in 2013 introduced requirements that allowed the construction of 5 and 6-storey combustible residential and business buildings. This lightweight wood framing was permitted under strict conditions, including sprinkler protection, a maximum height of 18 m on the top floor and a maximum building area of 1,500 m2 when used as a residential building. It should be noted that the 2015 version of the NBC 2010 QC, as published by the NRC (still not adopted by Quebec), allows this type of 5 and 6 storey construction (some requirements/conditions are different from the Quebec version).


Figure 1. Guide for the construction of 5 or 6 floors residential buildings
(source: RBQ)

New Materials, New Regulations

In parallel with this progress in lightweight frames, a new type of construction with “solid” wooden frames has appeared on the market: glued laminated timber but mostly CLT (cross-laminated timber). The latter type of material from Scandinavian countries arrived on the North American market in the early 2010s. The limit of six (6) storeys (light frame) can therefore be extended, from a structural point of view, to more than thirty (30) storeys! But the scientific community, the authorities with jurisdiction and the fire services are wondering: is it safe if a fire breaks out in such buildings?


Figure 2. Cross-laminated timber (source: FPInnovationS)

Research institutes around the world, including NRC, as well as groups representing the wood industry are therefore working to advance research in this area. Laboratory tests (small and large scale) are carried out in Europe, North America and Australia.


Figure 3. Tests in a furnished room with exposed BLC walls (source: A. R. Mediva Hevia)

Not being a type of construction recognized by the Quebec version of the NBC 2010, it was necessary to present an equivalent measure to the RBQ to have the construction of a building with more than six (6) floors accepted. The “Origine” residential condominium project in Quebec City was presented to the RBQ in the fall of 2014 and was accepted in the spring of 2015. This twelve-storey building, made in BLC and resting on a reinforced concrete podium on the ground floor
(13 floors in total), was completed at the end of 2017.


Figure 4. “Origin” project (source: Google Maps)

Furthermore, in the summer of 2015, the RBQ published a new guide to this type of construction, “Massive wooden buildings of no more than 12 storeys in height instructions and explanatory guide”. From then on, residential and business buildings are allowed to be built with a solid wood structure that is encapsulated in gypsum. Unfortunately for designers, wood surfaces cannot be visible with this guide, which is intended as a pre approved equivalent measure of NBC 2010 QC.


Figure 5. Guide for a 12 storey solid wood construction (source: RBQ)

What About Now ?

Where do we stand today? Scientific research continued to demonstrate in recent years that it is possible to have a certain amount of solid wood exposed in rooms and areas. NRC will publish the next version of the NBC (2020) by fall 2020, which will allow the construction of solid wood encased in gypsum, allowing exposed visible wall surfaces, ceiling or structural elements (columns and beams) only under certain conditions. For now, it is necessary to introduce an equivalent measure for the RBQ to allow visible surfaces. However, it is likely that the RBQ if the past is the guarantee for the future will either adopt these new provisions quickly enough (for exposed wood) either in the future version of its code or via a guide as it has done in the past.

Do you have questions about this article? Contact the author!

By Marc-André Langevin, President

By |2019-09-19T16:42:33+00:00September 19th, 2019|News|0 Comments

Les constructions d’habitations en bois : évolution des pratiques

Éléments de contexte

Le Code National du Bâtiment du Canada (ci-après CNB) permet, depuis sa première parution en 1941, que les édifices soient de construction combustible (dont le bois) incluant la structure et les éléments non structuraux. À cette époque, les bâtiments en gros bois d’œuvre pouvaient avoir quatre (4) étages alors que ceux avec une ossature légère étaient limités à trois (3) étages. La présence des gicleurs n’avait qu’une influence (limitée) sur l’aire de bâtiment permise.

Encore aujourd’hui, le choix par les professionnels de concevoir un immeuble de construction combustible doit s’effectuer en fonction des conditions et des exigences spécifiques mentionnées au CNB, et plus particulièrement à la sous-section 3.2.2. La Régie du Bâtiment du Québec (RBQ), lorsqu’elle a adopté la version modifiée du CNB 2010 en juin 2015, a été innovatrice dans son approche de la construction combustible.

En effet, la version « originale » 2010 du CNB, telle que publiée par le Conseil National de Recherche du Canada (CNRC), limitait toujours la construction combustible à au plus quatre (4) étages même lorsque protégée par gicleurs. La RBQ, dans la foulée de son guide paru en 2013 « Construction d’HABITATIONS EN BOIS de 5 ou 6 étages », a introduit les exigences qui permettaient la construction combustible des bâtiments d’usage résidentiel et d’affaires de 5 et 6 étages. Cette ossature de bois légère fut permise selon des conditions strictes, dont la protection par gicleurs, une hauteur d’au plus 18 m au dernier étage et une aire de bâtiment d’au plus 1 500 m2 lorsque l’usage est résidentiel. Notons au passage que la version 2015 du CNB, telle que publiée par le CNRC (toujours non adoptée par le Québec), permet ce type de construction de 5 et 6 étages (certaines exigences/conditions sont différentes de la version québécoise).


Figure 1. Guide pour la construction de 5 ou 6 étages (source : RBQ)

À nouveaux matériaux, nouvelle réglementation

Parallèlement à cette avancée pour l’ossature légère, un nouveau type de construction avec des membrures de bois « massives » a fait son apparition sur le marché : le bois lamellé-collé et surtout le BLC (bois lamellé-croisé). Ce dernier type de matériaux, provenant des pays scandinaves, est arrivé sur le marché Nord-Américain au début des années 2010. La limite des six (6) étages (ossature légère) peut donc être reportée, d’un point de vue structural, à au-delà de trente (30) étages! Mais la communauté scientifique, les autorités ayant juridiction ainsi que les services d’incendie s’interrogent : est-ce sécuritaire si un incendie se déclare dans de tels bâtiments?


Figure 2. Bois lamellé-croisé (source : FPInnovationS)

Les instituts de recherche partout dans le monde, dont le CNRC, ainsi que les groupes représentant l’industrie du bois, se mettent donc au travail pour faire avancer la recherche dans ce domaine. Des essais en laboratoire (à petite et grande échelle) sont réalisés en Europe, en Amérique du Nord et en Australie.


Figure 3. Essais dans une pièce meublée avec murs en BLC exposés (source : A. R. Mediva Hevia)

N’étant pas un type de construction reconnu par la version québécoise du CNB 2010, il était alors nécessaire de présenter une mesure équivalente à la RBQ pour faire accepter la construction d’un bâtiment de plus de six (6) étages. Le projet résidentiel de copropriétés « Origine » à Québec fut présenté à la RBQ à l’automne 2014 et accepté au printemps 2015. Ce bâtiment, de douze (12) étages construit en BLC reposant sur un podium en béton armé au rez-de-chaussée (donc 13 étages au total), fut terminé en fin d’année 2017.


Figure 4. Projet « Origine » (source : Google Maps)

Par ailleurs, la RBQ publie à l’été 2015 un nouveau guide encadrant ce type de construction « Bâtiment de construction massive en bois d’au plus 12 étages ». On permet alors la construction d’immeubles résidentiels et d’affaires avec une structure de bois massif qui est encapsulée dans du gypse. Malheureusement pour les concepteurs, les surfaces de bois ne peuvent pas être apparentes avec ce guide qui se veut une mesure équivalente préapprouvée du CNB 2010 Qc.


Figure 5. Guide pour une construction de bois massive de 12 étages (source : RBQ)

Et maintenant?

Où en sommes-nous en aujourd’hui? Les recherches scientifiques se sont poursuivies au cours des dernières années démontrant qu’il est possible d’avoir une certaine surface de bois massif exposée dans les pièces et les espaces. Le CNRC publiera d’ici l’automne 2020 la prochaine version du CNB (2020) qui permettra la construction de bois massive encapsulée dans du gypse mais permettant, sous certaines conditions, d’avoir des surfaces de murs, de plafonds ou des éléments structuraux (colonnes et poutres) exposés et donc apparents. Pour l’instant, il faut présenter une mesure équivalente à la RBQ pour avoir des surfaces apparentes. Il est toutefois probable que la RBQ, si le passé est garant de l’avenir, soit assez rapide pour adopter ces nouvelles dispositions (bois apparent), soit dans la future version de son code, soit via un guide comme elle l’a fait dans le passé.

Des questions sur le sujet? Contactez l’auteur de l’article!

Par Marc-André Langevin, Président

2019-09-19T18:41:42+00:00By |Nouvelles|0 Comments