Gilbert Montminy2019-01-03T23:06:13+00:00

Gilbert Montminy, P.Eng.

Director - Electricity group

(418) 476-1940 #208
gmontminy@technorm.qc.ca

Role

Gilbert Montminy is specialized in the electricity field. He joined Technorm in 2018 after he worked for 18 years at the Régie du Bâtiment du Québec (RBQ). He fulfilled national level functions as a Quebec representative, as well as the president of the provincial Advisory Committee on Electricity. While at RBQ he has published numerous technical documents pertaining to electricity.

With his team, he performs technical expertise in the electrical installation fields to analyze their compliance and to establish factors which could lead to electrical equipment’s failure. He also gives significant support to the Fire Investigation team.

Furthermore, Gilbert assists the construction operators in advising them on the latest regulatory requirements related to electricity. Gilbert also helps the owners who want to present equivalent measures requests to the competent authorities.

Gilbert Montminy also tutors in the fields of regulations, codes, and manufacturing standards regarding electrical installations.

Education

  • Bachelor’s degree in Electrical Engineering, specialization in Electrotechnology (Université Laval, 1989)

Areas of expertise

  • Technical, regulatory and standards expertize in the electricity field
  • Consultation in building standards and electrical installation safety
  • Electrical device failures

Gilbert Montminy, Directeur Électricité | Tehcnorm inc.

Gilbert Montminy, ing.

Directeur - groupe Électricité

(418) 476-1940 #208
gmontminy@technorm.qc.ca

Son rôle

Gilbert Montminy est spécialisé dans le domaine de l’électricité. Il s’est joint à Technorm en 2018 après avoir travaillé 18 ans à la Régie du Bâtiment du Québec (RBQ). Il y a assumé les fonctions de représentant du Québec au niveau national ainsi que de président du comité consultatif provincial sur l’électricité. Gilbert a d’ailleurs publié de nombreux documents techniques relatifs à l’électricité au cours de son passage à la RBQ.

Avec son équipe, il réalise des expertises techniques dans les domaines des installations électriques tant pour en analyser la conformité que pour établir les facteurs ayant mené à la défaillance d’appareillage électrique. Il apporte aussi un support significatif à l’équipe d’enquête en incendies.

De plus, Gilbert assiste les intervenants de la construction dans un rôle conseil relatif aux dernières exigences réglementaires liées à l’électricité. Gilbert aide également les propriétaires désirant présenter des demandes de mesures différentes auprès des autorités compétentes.

Gilbert Montminy est également formateur dans le domaine de la réglementation, des codes et des normes relativement aux installations électriques.

Sa formation

  • Baccalauréat en génie électrique, spécialisation en électrotechnologie (Université Laval, 1989)

Ses domaines d’expertise

  • Expertise technique, réglementaire et normative dans le domaine de l’électricité
  • Consultation en normes de construction et de sécurité des installations électriques
  • Bris d’appareillage électrique